Stories and Wellness Support for my clients and interested viewers!

Evidence!

Oh, let’s ditch the old paradigm of “success” coming from a bathroom scale.  What an inelegant, unattractive device to hold such power!  After all, it delivers only one measurement.  Most of us agree that we want to feel “light”.  When we make an effort to fuel our bodies to an exquisite level, to exercise with awareness and enjoyment, to “change it up” often, we might ask some additional questions:

“How do I feel overall?”

“Do I feel energetic?”

“Do I FEEL lighter?”

“Could I skip down the sidewalk?”

“Do I observe muscular definition in my body?”

“How do my clothes fit?”

“Do I feel power in the center of myself?

Obviously it isn’t the mass weight to be considered, but the make-up or ratio of muscle, fat, bone, water, air.  How can that be reflected meaningfully by a weight measuring device?  That number IS significant and represents only one consideration.  I know you know this; I just want you to recall it should you become less enchanted with yourself as you consider numbers.

Motivate yourself with some different assessments as you give your body the best care you can find!  Converse with us here on what is significant to you!

RECIPE TREAT from Barbara – alternative dipping sauce for Artichokes, the fabulous vegetable that is key in lowering cholesterol and has a low glycemic load.  And, actually the dip can be used on a variety of food at any meal!

BEAN DIP:

1 Can Pinto Beans (16 oz)

½ Cup Red Onion, chopped or Shallots (3 large)

1 tsp Garlic, minced

1/5 tsp Rosemary, fresh, chopped

Dressing:

1 tsp Salt

¼ tsp Pepper

2 Lemons, juiced

1/8 tsp Tabasco

2 T Olive Oil (or less)

  1. Combine first four ingredients.
  2. Mix dressing, combining well.
  3. Add dressing to other ingredients and process in Food Processor until smooth with still, some texture.\

Voila!

Comments on: "Evidence!" (2)

  1. Elizabeth said:

    Amen on all that, Sarah! Thank you for this reminder – that it’s not always about the pounds, but more about the empowerment. (Although I do admit I’m ready to see the scale reflect a bit more of that ‘lighter’ feeling that I have these days! I know it’ll get there.)

    And Barbara’s recipe is fantastic – Richard and I both loved it with those big, fat, beautiful artichokes you brought over. I will make this for my California sister next time she’s in town! Thank you for sharing the recipe. With love and gratitude, Elizabeth

  2. Sarah said:

    It’s all good, huh? Thanks for sharing YOU-WITH-THE-TOO-BIG-CLOTHES-TO-GIVE-AWAY!

Leave a comment